top of page

Bird in the Hand

Dear reader,

Today I received my bachelor diploma at the Hanzehogeschool Groningen. I can now call myself an engineer (ing.). I always thought that when you studied for something and finally received your diploma you knew who you were, and you are able to say: "trust me I am an engineer". In the last few months I've learned that it's not the profession what defines you but rather the passions and talents you possess that matters. A professor in the U.K., Saras Sarasvathy, did her phd in what makes succesful entrepeneurs succesful. What she found was that they started with three things:

- Who am I

- What do I know

- Who do I know

She called this the bird in the hand principle. This gives me the freedom to not only say I am an engineer, but to look at my talents. I am now also able to say I am a designer and an entrepreneur. This principle allows me to look beyond the skills as an engineer but rather follow my own path to design beautiful things for people.

bird in the hand.jpg

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page